BWASA Businesswoman of the Year Awards Winners Announced

The Businesswomen’s Association of South Africa (BWASA) , in conjunction with headline sponsor Sasol , has announced the winners of the 37th annual Businesswoman of the Year Awards. Here are the Businesswoman of the Year Awards Winners below;

Corporate category winner : Faith Khanyile is CEO and founding member of WDB Investment Holdings (WDBIH), a strategic transformational investor founded and led by women. Faith serves on the JSE – listed boards of Discovery Limited, Safari RSA Investments, Seed Engine, a supporter and funder of SMMEs, a nd International Housing Solutions, an unlisted Private Equity Fund. She graduated on the Dean’s Honour Roll and was on the Dean’s List at Wheaton College in the USA. In addition, she obtained her MBA from the Bentley Graduate School of Business, also in the USA. She attended Executive Leadership Training at Columbia Business School, New York. In 2016, she received an Honorary Doctorate in Law from Wheaton College for the upliftment of rural women through her work at WDB.

Entrepreneur category winner: Johanna Mukoki is Group CEO of Travel with Flair, which she co – founded 20 years ago with two partners. The business has grown from three employees and one office in Pretoria to more than 700 employees nationally. Past accolades include Most Influential Woman in Business and Government in Tourism; Ernst & Young Emerging World Entrepreneur of the Year and Africa’s Most Influential Women in Business. In addition, she received an Exceptional Commitment Award from the ASATA Diners Club. She is the first African to serve on the Global Tourism Board – Association of Corporate Travel Executives – where she represents the Middle East and Africa. Johanna is vice president of the ASATA Board and sits on the Salvation Army board where she assists with fundraising for t heir children shelters. She is a qualified chartered accountant with a BCom degree from Rhodes University. • Social

Entrepreneur category winner: Dr Shaheda Bibi Omar is Director of The Teddy Bear Clinic for Abused Children . With more than 25 years’ experie nce in the field, Shaheda has been with The Teddy Bear Clinic for 16 years. She developed the Diversion Programme for young sex offenders, which is hailed as the most progressive programme on the continent. She is the author of the diversion handbook ‘Children who sexually abuse other children’ and has presented at numerous national and international conferences, workshops and training sessions on sexual abuse . Shaheda serves on various boards, including Nkosi’s Haven; Muslim AIDS Programme; Arepp, Theatre for Life; and the Johannesburg Institute f or Social Services. She also volunteers as a coun sellor at the Parktown convent and AIDS clinic in Hillbrow, amongst others. She has a BA Social Work (Hons), a Masters in Mental Health, diploma in Marriage Guidance & Counselling and Forensic Assessment of child victims of abuse, and has completed a doctoral thesis on young sex offenders.

• Education category winner: Prof Cheryl de la Rey is v ice – chancellor and principal of the University of Pretoria in South Africa , a role she has fulfilled since November 2009 . She was previously executive director at the National Research Foundation and also served as deputy vice – chancellor of the University of Cape Town and CEO of the Council on Higher Education (CHE). De la Rey o btained a Bachelor of Arts in 1983 (Psychology Distinction), Bachelor of Arts Honours in 1984 and Master of Arts in 1986 from the University of Natal, both cum – laude. She subsequently obtained her PhD in Psychology from the University of Cape Town in 1999 and is registered with the Health Professions Council of South Africa as a research psychologist.

Related Articles

Show More
# Below Post Banner ---------- jannah_below_post_ad(); ?>

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker